Lay It All Down

Deeper Thoughts, Deeper Findings, True To Self, True To You, Discoveries, Thoughts that just don't flatter, Hearty Talks
“Aren’t we all unfinished don’t we all need editing” -Rudy Francisco

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


“Lay it all down
Lay it all down
Lay it all down
Lay it all down…”

See,
I never wanted to be broken,
So I built walls all around me
Walls reinforced with tonnes of bitterness
To an equal amount of hate for the world
Oh, what gain would it be to be vulnerable to mere mortal man?
Man, swaddled in garments of self-pity
In a bid to hold their own walls from falling,
Fearing that another may see how deserted their cities really were.

It was the same show everywhere,

A quest to see whose bridges could hold up for the longest,

I guess finding You was my point of weakness to them,

I did not see it as a victory either,

At that moment I could only hate myself for giving up!


What darkness I dwelled in!

These cities I built for myself with walls too high

No light could shine through them

I built castles in the dark,

Castles I believed existed

With no idea, if they were even standing

No evidence of what direction I had built them  in

Frames at the point of decay

Groaned as they held my grieving soul


Darkness is just the absence of light.

Now I see it

What terrible castles I built with such shabby material,

Swinging idly, ready to fall at one blow of insult

Seemingly polished walls of insensitivity that attracted offence,

Leaking with disgust for my fellow man

Bait for the enemy to trail termite tunnels of hurt in my direction


Walls of self-love placed in the wrong proportions

Hanging onto sandy foundations of bought out comments

Earned from selling my dignity to strangers

Daily offers of 24-hour posters of me being lured to their bait

Breaking off my principles as if it were news to them

My foundation had no anchor just anger, 

Watch how my beams leaned towards self-righteousness

Because no one said enough words that could  linger in my air vents,

Long enough.


A heavy cloud of lust lingered above,

A bed of rest for my thwarted desires,

Untamed,

So they devoured anything that came their way,

It was an insatiable hunger,

Of course, but I was too blind to see it.

You can never see the light unless if you shout for it,

Search for it,

Yearn for it,

Then it can find you.


Sometimes it takes shouting louder than you expect

fireworks-102971_1920

Enter a caption

Remember these walls were not built in a day

It takes a man intentionality to let others in,

But careful too who you let in.


Guard your heart for out of it flow the issues of life
But how I drench of my own issues Lord,
My walls are ‘whitewashed’ with my fleshly desires,
My insatiable gloom drowns the colour in me,

Purge me with hyssop,
Your cleansing makes me whiter than snow
None of my transgressions will show,
Break me inside out,
I offer myself as a sacrifice,
One you will deny me not
Because, a broken and contrite heart, O God!
You will not despise…

I Am Ink.

Leave a comment